Best Tips to Stay Fit during Travels – part I

When comes to a business trip or vacation fun, I am sure you agree with me that having discipline to stay fit and healthy is a huge challenge!  Between fast food stops, huge restaurant meals, and a general “I-can-eat-whatever” attitude, the result is often vacation pudge that lasts longer than you want. These tips are based on my personal experiences and you can take them at your own risk but it’s well tested, I must say:)  Plus you’ll have a good time on the road, minus the longstanding consequences.  This is a 3 parts series, well it’s from my diary so here goes:

1. Plan ahead.
Pack smart. That means stocking up on travel-friendly grub that’s nutrient-dense, non-perishable, and has sustaining calories.  Fill your bags with snacks like beef jerky, dark chocolate chips, nuts, and individual peanut butter packets. That’s my boyfriend’s choice but mine are usually bars that consist of wholesome ingredients like nuts, seeds, and dried fruit.  Seem to last longer without the hunger pangs.

2. Know where you’re going.
When you’re in a new city or on the road, avoid stopping at the first fast-food burger joint you see as soon as you’re hungry. R-E-S-I-S-T

I recommend using an app like AroundME while you’re on your way to the destination. It will let you locate healthier restaurant chains, like Chipotle or Sweet Tomatoes.

3. Eat every 2 to 3 hours.
It doesn’t have to be much—just a handful of nuts or dried fruit. This avoids a so-hungry-you-ate-a-gas-station-hot-dog situation.

Leave a Reply

